A Women's Hoops Podcast + More

2022 WNBA Regular-Season Schedule Highlights

Dec 9, 2021

By The Hard Screen Staff

Christmas comes early for WNBA fans seeking to make their 2022 season plans!

The league announced on Thursday, December 9, its regular-season schedule for the New Year. The 2022 WNBA season begins on May 6 and concludes on August 14, and here’s everything you need to know:

2022 WNBA Regular-Season Highlights

  • Each team will play 36 regular-season games.
  • Each team will play 10 Commissioner’s Cup games, from May 6 to July 7.
  • Commissioner’s Cup Championship Game will be played on Tuesday July 26.
  • WNBA All-Star Weekend is July 9 and July 10.
  • “Series” play continues to reduce travel and simultaneously intensify rivalries!
  • All 12 teams will be in action for the regular-season finale on August 14.
  • WNBA teams can begin negotiating with free agents on January 15.
  • Free agents can sign contracts beginning on February 1.
  • Connecticut Sun will play the Chicago Sky four times in 2022, making the defending champions a thorn in the Sun’s side for at least another season.
  • Phoenix Mercury, in its first season in the post-Sandy Brondello era, will play the defending champions Sky three times.
  • The Mercury and the Las Vegas Aces will face each other three times in a rematch of what was a heartbreaking semifinals loss for the Aces.
  • The playoffs in 2022 feature five-game series in the early rounds and seven-game series in the WNBA Semifinals and WNBA Finals.

Opening Weekend Schedule

Day     Date          Visitor                  Home                    Local Time            Eastern Time

Fri.      May 6        Indiana                  Washington          7:00 p.m.            7:00 p.m.

Fri.      May 6        Los Angeles          Chicago                 7:00 p.m.            8:00 p.m.

Fri.      May 6        Las Vegas             Phoenix                 7:00 p.m.            10:00 p.m.

Fri.      May 6        Minnesota             Seattle                   7:00 p.m.            10:00 p.m.

Sat.      May 7        Connecticut          New York             6:00 p.m.            6:00 p.m.

Sat.      May 7        Atlanta                  Dallas                    7:00 p.m.            8:00 p.m.

Sun.     May 8        Los Angeles          Indiana                  3:00 p.m.            3:00 p.m.

Sun.     May 8        Seattle                   Las Vegas             3:00 p.m.            6:00 p.m.

Sun.     May 8        Washington          Minnesota             6:00 p.m.            7:00 p.m.